Take a Perspective of Unlimited Possibility

When I was younger I thought everything was black and white, true or false, possible or not possible. Part of that was the result of growing up in a cult-like religion that viewed the world that way. To this day, I actually feel some surprise and embarrassment when I think back on some of the things I believed. The beliefs I embraced did not even adhere to the laws of the universe. In fact, the turning point for me was one beautiful fall day when I was laying in a hammock with oak leaves falling all around me.

I love fall and I especially love oak trees so I was in a very happy state of mind. Except for one thing. I was having a crisis – my mind was being forced open. I was taking a feng shui practitioners course and surprisingly, until the second day of the program, I thought feng shui was just ‘positive thinking’. The new ideas I was learning and the evidence I was seeing with my own eyes was forcing me to consider that what I had believed, or said I believed, for almost my entire life, was just not true.

You see, I had believed that there would soon be a catastrophic event and that very few people would survive it. Those who did survive Armageddon would then live forever on a paradise earth. The part of this that I really had a problem with, because it was not only unbelievable to me but even disgusting, was that these survivors would all exist forever in a kind of plastic mid-life state. Yucky!

As I laid there with the trees shedding their leaves all over me, I thought, “Nothing in the Universe lives forever. Everything, these trees, even the stars in the Universe, will die in their time. Why would we live forever and never change?” At that point I actually asked for a sign, any sign that perhaps I should shed those old dying thoughts, just like the oaks trees surrounding me were shedding their leaves, and open my mind to a new way of seeing the world and the possibilities. I said, “Just one sign and I will take it as an answer to my question.” Just then the gong rang to call us back to class and as I jumped up, or actually as I rolled over and fell out of the hammock, I said, “Thank you.”

Since then, without the rigid structure of a dogmatic belief system, I’ve had to consider the evidence that I’m confronted with every day to make my own decision as to whether I choose to believe it or not.

In my book, Future Pull, I talk about the mind blowing realization I had that I was so far behind what is now common knowledge and how it was an ‘ah hah’ moment. It was when Dolly was cloned. Remember that? I had absolutely no idea that cloning was even possible. I thought it was all science fiction. It was the impetus I needed to start reading more widely and exploring what ‘might be true’ instead of immediately dismissing new ideas and concepts as impossible.

Now I take a Perspective of Unlimited Possibility. I know that the more we find out, the more we find out we sure don’t know much. Until something is proven irrevokable impossible, and that’s really setting a high standard, I think anything could be possible and I’m willing to consider it.

I try to have an open mind. Of course, not so open that my brains fall out, but open enough so that new ideas and possibilities can fall in.

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in future pull, time, Unlimited Possibilities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

