Received proof copy of my new book

How exciting!  My lifelong dream of writing and publishing a book is coming true. 

I am not speaking lightly when I say ‘lifelong’.  I remember when I was about 6 or 7 and living with my grandparents in England, my sister and I would lie in bed and she would tell me stories while I recorded them. Even then I loved to hear other people’s stories and record them.  Then, ten years later when I was deep in adolescent angst, I joined the Poetry Club at Western Tech in Toronto and wrote poem after poem about….well about all the stuff that only a depressed teen could write about.  I was pretty excited then when several of my poems were published in the small book In Quest and in the yearbook. 

In 1981, still dreaming of being a published author, I entered a Chatelaine writing contest.  That was actually the launch of my business.  I had to rent a typewriter to meet the submission requirements; a cost that as a single mother on welfare I absolutely couldn’t afford.  So I decided to put a sign up at the university to type student papers to help me pay off that huge $15 rental bill.  Within a couple of weeks I had made $70 (SEVENTY DOLLARS!!!) typing a forestry student’s paper.  So I rented an even more expensive typewriter – one with a correction feature – and started Creative Services.  Unfortunately that was in April or May which as you are probably aware, is when all the students finish school and go home.  No more business!  And there I was – stuck with a $65 a month bill for the typewriter.  So I put an ad in the paper and ended up getting requests to type resumes.  Even I could see that most of them weren’t very good so I started doing major research and before I knew it, I was the local expert on resumes.

Within a few years, after typing literally hundreds of resumes, I expanded my horizons and started coaching and leading workshops.  Seeking new ways to help people ‘find and achieve their own vision of success’ – which was my mission statement – I found Barbara Sher and her book, Wishcraft.  Then What Color is Your Parachute.  Then I started developing my own approach to helping people find fulfillment in their lives – in all aspects of their lives. 

Now here I am, thirty years later and holding my very own book – a compilation of all the truths I’ve learned helping hundreds of people over the years and a good selection of tools and techniques that have proven to work.

It truly is very much like giving birth.  I’m so excited.  However, I can’t just sit here holding it in my lap and gazing on it’s cute little face – oh, sorry – cover.  I must proofread it and send it off for publication.  Send it out into the world to do wonderful things and help, I hope, many people, to create the life of their dreams.  Oh yeah, my new baby’s name is: Future Pull: Partner with the Universe to Create the Life of Your Dreams.  But you probably guessed that.

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in future pull. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Received proof copy of my new book

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Received proof copy of my new book | Future Pull -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

