Five Guiding Principles that will change your life

I’ve been working on my new book, The Seven Day Mental Diet.  Originally, it was intended as a slightly revised version of Emmet Fox’s little booklet from 1937, but as I started making minor changes, updating the language, etc., my fingers got carried away and I started reworking it–completely.

I thought I’d see if I could find people who had succeeded in sticking to the Diet for a full seven days and get some real-life stories about how it can change your life.  So I did a query and I surfed the net and contacted people who had publicized their attempts.  And I found quite a few people who tried, and tried again, and tried again–and failed.  That was disappointing!

Then I started finding a few who, after many attempts, were actually able to complete it–keeping their minds free of negative thoughts for a full seven days.  I contacted them and asked them very nicely if they would share what they had learned.  What made the difference between the many times they failed and the tipping point where they succeeded?  They were extremely generous with their wisdom and now I have a wealth of information to share.  Some of it was already in the original, some of it I knew from my own experience coaching individuals and groups for years, and some of it was definitely a new approach.

In a nutshell, these are the guiding principles:

1.  You need to claim your power.  You have the power to control your thoughts.  I know from experience that this is the biggest block for most people.  They can’t get past this.  After all, if you accept that you can control your thoughts, then you also have to take responsibility for your thoughts.  Some relish that knowledge and accept the power.  Some abdicate it and prefer to stay a victim.

2.  You are what you think and so is everything else.  In other words, your life and your environment are created by your thoughts.  Good and bad.

3.  Do is always more powerful than don’t.  So rather than focusing on what you don’t want – negative thoughts – focus on what you do want – positive thoughts.  You can never just eliminate a thought.  You must substitute a different thought.

4.   You are a whole eco system and you can start the change from any point.  You know that when you feel happy and positive, you walk and talk faster, you smile, you hold your body differently than when you are sad.  When you want to change your mood and your thoughts from negative to positive, you can start that process in your mind or you can start it in your body.  Move, smile and talk as though you are happy and you will become happy.  It’s a fact!

5.  When you choose to appreciate the good and positive, the good and positive will appreciate.  Not just a trite old saying; it’s true. 

Five guiding principles that will turn your life around 180 degrees.  I guarantee it.

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in personal power, Seven Day Mental Diet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

