Revamping Your To-Do List

Don’t you just love to-do lists?  When I’m in the mood to get stuff done, I love to make long lists and check each item off as I get it done.  When I’m not in the mood to get stuff done, I just like to make long lists for whenever I do feel like getting stuff done. 

My lists tend to be very detailed.  I create lists of micro-steps, all the better to feel like I’m accomplishing something.  Of course, it also means that I can spend all day puttering and checking off items and still get very little accomplished. 

For me, to-do lists can just be for fun.  However, when I have a big project to plan or a goal to achieve, a to-do list can be a way of stopping my thoughts from going in circles. 

It reminds me of the way particles work, according to the quantum mechanics masters.  Apparently particles are all over the place, be-bopping around with an infinite number of possible places to land, until someone tries to measure them and determine where they are.  When that happens, well then there they are, right where they were determined to be by the measurer.  Well, an idea can often be all over the place in my head, be-bopping around with an infinite number of possible ways of playing out, until I write it down and make it real. 

Sometimes I can be working on  the next big idea or the next great plan, making mind maps (another form of list) and to-do lists and I suddently start to feel overwhelmed.  Too much!!  Too many things to do!!  Too much responsibility!!  Too many ‘what if’s’!! 

That’s usually a symptom of ‘egoism’.  It’s a sign that I am forgetting that I work in partnership with the Universe and that I DON’T have to think of everything or do everything.  I don’t even have to think about everything.  In fact, I just have to come up with the vision and decide on the first few steps to take to get there.  Once I do that, create a clear compelling vision, decide on the first steps to start the journey to realizing my vision, and start moving on that path, the Universe will step up.  The Universe will start to open doors, send me signs, roll those big boulders out of the way and make connections. 

So to help me remember to trust that the Universe will step up and do it’s part, and to prevent fear and overwhelm from slipping in and shutting me down, I’m revamping my to-do lists.  My to-do lists now will include some of the possible ways that the Universe can help – not that I’m trying to boss the Universe around or anything.  I recognize that the Universe has a much better view of space and time and certainly can see farther and juggle things better than I can.  The Universe side of the to-do list is more of a reminder to me to not feel like it’s all on my back.

So, for example, this is how my to-do list might look for ‘market my new book’ (before including the Universe):

  1. Compile a list of newspapers and media I can contact.
  2. Write a news release.
  3. Contact people who might want to do a co-op email promo.
  4. Write emails for everyone,
  5. Come up with a list of freebies for people who buy my book.
  6. Create the freebies.
  7. Decide on a launch day.
  8. Order books.

…….

Here it is after I include the Universe:

  1. Decide on a launch day – me 
  2. Write a vision of my book launch day and reaching the top 100 on Amazon.com – me
  3. Contact people who have indicated an interest in helping and explain how the launch will work, invite them to participate if they wish – me
  4. Connect Jackie with ‘how to launch a book’ information – Universe
  5. Send Jackie bright ideas for other people who might want to be involved – the Universe.
  6. Give some ‘as yet unknown’ contacts a heads-up and make connections – the Universe
  7. Come up with some freebie ideas for the launch – me
  8. Suggest even more brilliant freebie ideas for Jackie – the Universe
  9. Follow up on bright ideas or offers of help from people – me
  10. Take a step every single day! – me

…. ……

Wow!  It already feels easier.  If I create a clean the house to-do list I wonder if I can give the Universe the toilet-scrubbing job.

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in future pull, life questions, personal power, the Universe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

