Off to Toronto and an opportunity to practice Re-Framing

I’m off to Toronto today.  Seems like I’m travelling every second week now. 

I have been waiting for the proof copies of my two books:  Future Pull, Partner with the Universe to Create the Life of Your Dreams (2nd proof) and Future Pull, Life Creation Playbook and Journal.  If they had arrived before now, I could have spent my evenings proofing them.  But they didn’t.  And that’s okay, because it gives me a chance to practice re-framing.

You see, last week I stumbled upon a great blog by Tim Brownson.  He is an author, certified Life Coach and NLP Master Practitioner and his A Daring Adventure blog is one of the most popular self development blogs in the US. Not only did I thoroughly enjoy his out-of-left-field sense of humor, I was intrigued by his project to giveaway to good causes 1,000,000 copies of a book he co-authored called How To Be Rich and Happy.

After reading his blog on re-framing, I decided to re-think the Eight Guiding Principles in the book I’m currently writing, The Seven Day Mental Diet, and turn it into Ten Guiding Principles.  I had been thinking they should either by seven (for seven days) or ten (just because) and this reinforced that urge.  This book, which was originally supposed to be a slight revision of Emmet Fox’s Seven Day Mental Diet, a tweaking of the words to bring them up to the 21st century, is now 100 pages and growing.  I’ve found people who have literally changed their lives through this method and now I’m incorporating the lessons learned from them. 

I already had re-framing in there but it was lumped into another Guiding Principle and I’ve decided it deserves one Principle all to itself.  It’s that important.  So what exactly is reframing?

Well in a nutshell, re-framing is looking at a situation, usually one that sucks, from another perspective – a more positive, forward thinking perspective.  It is NOT lying to yourself and pretending that it’s great.  You’re not that stupid.  It is looking for the real good aspects of the situation, and believe it or not, there always are some.  Okay, sometimes they aren’t real obvious until you view it in hindsight, but you can learn to see them much earlier, even right away, in the middle of the sucky situation.

Now admittedly, my ‘damn, the books haven’t arrived’ is not that big a deal, but every opportunity to practice is an opportunity to grow my ‘re-framing’ muscle.  So here goes.  This is my new re-framed perspective on going to Toronto, with no book proofs in hand.

  1. I have an opportunity to practice re-framing.
  2. I really need to work on the Seven Day Mental Diet if I ever want to finish it and now I can focus on that for four days instead of just reading already written material.
  3. I have to finish the Future Pull website so it’s ready to go on my launch day.
  4. I have to do the materials for the mastermind groups and send them off to people who have enquired.
  5. I require total concentration to do the back-end stuff on the website and mastermind page and if I had easy reading I for sure would default to that.
  6. Two books are actually pretty heavy so now my bag will be lighter.
  7. Now I have room in my bag for my gym clothes and shoes and I can go to the hotel gym and work out instead of reading.
  8. If the companion book is just two days later, the POD company will refund the shipping because it didn’t get here on time.
  9. I might decide to go see Billy Elliot one night and I won’t feel compelled to sit in my room and get the proof reading done.
  10. There must be one more so I can have a nice even ten.  I must think about it…..

Afterword:  Wouldn’t you know it?  My Playbook and Journal arrived just as I was leaving the house.  I grabbed it and got in the taxi.  First quick scan looks good but I can already see things I want to change.  I wonder if you ever get to a point where you say, ‘Yes, it’s fine the way it is – publish!’

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

