Before My Coffee Gets Cold

Here’s a great idea I picked up this week as I browsed the web:  every day, before my coffee gets cold, I should do one thing to move me closer to my goals.

In my book, Future Pull, I suggested the adoption of a daily practice.  The daily practice ideally would include quiet time connecting to the Universe, clearly visualizing your ideal life and the achievement of your goals, and celebrating your successes so far.  The daily practice could be either carried out in the morning or in the evening.

While this ‘before my coffee gets cold’ approach could be part of a daily practice, it’s really more of a standard.  What you actually do is open to change depending on what your goal is and where you are in the achievement of it, but the focus of this approach is doing at least one thing that moves you closer to it.

That could be going to the gym if your goal is to become fitter. It could be writing a blog if your goal is to build your online presence.  It might be writing 3 pages if your goal is to write a book or decluttering one small area – a drawer or a shelf – if your goal is to lighten your load.  It might be to set up a day’s worth of Twitter feeds on SocialOomph.  For me, a good goal to achieve before my coffee gets cold would be to eliminate 500 old emails.

I think it’s such a good idea in fact, that tomorrow, I resolve to do exactly that.  Tomorrow, before my coffee gets cold, I will eliminate 500 emails on both of my accounts. 

What will you do before your coffee gets cold?

Sometimes the smallest gems are the best.  What great little ideas have you heard of?

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in future pull, life questions, personal power, Seven Day Mental Diet, time and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Before My Coffee Gets Cold

  1. iDella says:

    Great idea……yet another. I’ve adopted a practice where I sit down 1st thing and ‘brain dump’ everything I need to do that day that pertains to a larger goal. It’s been really helpful with getting stuff done. I like “before my coffee gets cold” – that should be your next blog!

    • futurepull says:

      I like your daily practice Della. It sounds similar to the Morning Pages that Julia Cameron suggests in her book The Artists Way, except that your’s is not just free-ranging but focused on a particular goal. when you say it should be my next blog, you mean my next blog–not just next blog post-hmmmm that gave me an idea. I’ve been thinking about do a blog just about good books and their ideas. If reading is part of a daily Hour of Power-then that would certainly work for the blog.

      BTW, just finished my ‘before my coffee gets cold’ goal–500 old emails gone from each email address. LOL My coffee is almost ocld. That might have been too large. Tomorrow maybe I’ll reduce the number – small steps over and over and over again are better than a great big step that you decide is too much and give up on.

Leave a Reply

