Dispel the Cloud of Negativity That You Live Under

In 1969, on my way to the first day of my first ‘real office’ job, I stopped at a corner store and bought a pack of cigarettes.  I didn’t smoke and had never smoked.  Oh, in high school, I tried to smoke, standing out on the street in front of Western Tech with the other outcasts, but I never could really do it.  So I gave up, until that day in September of 1969 when I bought a pack of Cameo.  I thought maybe the menthol taste would make inhaling that disgusting smoke more palatable.

Well, although I tried, I didn’t make it through one week as a smoker before giving up.  So why was I even trying?  Because in those days, you could smoke anywhere and everywhere and every desk had an ashtray on it.  Offices were just clouds of choking smoke.  Everyone had a cigarette burning in their mouth or in the ashtray all day long, and I wanted to fit in.

Times have changed and now we don’t have to live in a perpetual cloud of tobacco smoke.  We don’t have to pretend that we have that bad habit just to fit in.  Now I also don’t care so much about fitting in.

Now, we don’t live in a cloud of smoke but we certainly live in a cloud of negativity. Sometimes, in spite of knowing better, we join in with the nay-sayers, bitchers and complainers to ‘fit in’.  And, just like when I lit and let burn out every cigarette in my first and only pack of Cameos, we contribute to the cloud of negativity that pollutes our world today.

So what’s that got to do with great ideas?  I’m suggesting a great idea – my best one
yet!

Let’s call a moratorium on negativity for one whole week.  It’s not a new idea.  Emmet Fox wrote The Seven Day Mental Diet in 1935 which called on people to change their life and their world in just one week by refusing to let negative thoughts take hold in their minds for a full seven days.

Because I have a chapter on The Seven Day Mental Diet in my book, Future Pull, I decided to update and revise Emmet Fox’s classic for the 21st century.  Originally I
only intended to make minor changes in the language just to bring it up to
date, but it turned into a completely new book.

As I was making the minor revisions in the language, I started to wonder if anyone was able to stick to the Seven Day Mental Diet.  So I did a query on HARO and got a
resounding ‘NOPE, I tried and couldn’t do it!”  Wow, is it really that hard to just refrain from negativity?  Apparently yes it is.  So I dug a little deeper and I finally found
a few people who were successful.

Mark McManus, of MuscleHack, told me that he tried over and over again before completing the challenge.  But it was worth it because he said his default mental attitude went from negative to positive and he really did change his life – just like the
book promised. Terri Hartman and Shantel Springer of Florida, have also been able to change their minds from negative to positive with all the spin off benefits that such a
mental shift can bring.  After speaking to these successful mental dieters, I decided to completely rewrite the book and include their lessons learned.   My new version of the Seven Day Mental Diet has Seven Guiding Principles to help us instill the new way of thinking into every day life.

So now my Seven Day Mental Diet is published and available on Amazon.com but I know from my experience and the experience of others, that just like when you try to kick any bad habit, including smoking, support is crucial.

So here’s my great idea for this week:

I am inviting anyone and everyone to take the Seven Day Mental Diet with me next week.

Starting on Monday, July 25, at 7 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time, I’m going to be hosting a short – very very short – teleconference every morning for a full seven days. 

In each teleconference I’m going to introduce one of the seven guiding principles and motivational tips to help you stay on track to completely rid your life of negativity.

No cost, no commitment – just send me an email at Jackie@JacquelineGarwood.com and
I’ll send you the telephone number and passcode.  Then you can join me at 7 a.m. ET starting Monday, July 25, 2011.  I’ll also record the teleconference so if 7 a.m. is too early for you or if you’re in another time zone, you can still listen in.   This is a spur of the moment great idea so it’s the beta version.  Help me test it out.

I’ll also send you an e-version of the guided journal to record your journey to a new attitude and a new life.

Hope you join me!

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in favorite books, future pull, Great Ideas, Seven Day Mental Diet and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dispel the Cloud of Negativity That You Live Under

  1. juliejordans says:

    I’m definitely doing this BUT 4 a.m. Pacific time is a bit early!

  2. iDella says:

    This is your best of the best ideas!The calls are a perfect fit for the inner work I’m doing. Do you mind if I share this post on my FB business page?

Leave a Reply

