Another Commercial Break – Wordle – A Great Idea

Now here is a  truly GREAT IDEA.  You may have heard of Wordle, seen Wordles and thought they were pretty neat, or you may have created a few of your own.  This is a Wordle I just created from the content of the first three blogs I did in this Ultimate Blog Challenge.

Wordle is easy.  You just type in or copy and paste in, a bunch of text and then press ‘go’ and it creates an amazing word picture based on the words in your text.  The more times the word was used, the bigger it is in relation to all the other words.  Then you can change the fonts, the colors and the layouts.  I just created a cool Step by Step Guide to Using Wordle.  Go subscribe to my blog with your email address and I’ll send it to you.

You can also randomize, so that it just keeps creating random new arrangements.  Here’s a randomized version of the same content as above.

But be warned.  You can’t make even a minor change without everything changing.  You’ll notice that names, like Steven Johnson and Napoleon Hill are broken up.  I could have kept them together by either typing them as one long word or inserting a ~ between the words.  But I didn’t.  I just copied the three blogs and pasted them into the box and then pressed go and randomized until I liked what I saw.  Then I used Jing to capture the image and save it as a picture.  And Voila!

There are lots of cool uses for Wordles.

  1. have them made into a t-shirt.  I’ve seen a t-shirt for Thunder Bay (my home town) that is a Wordle full of key words and phrases for the city.
  2. use them as a book or report cover
  3. make a poster out of them.  My daughter-in-law, a math teacher, wants to create posters with a bunch of math terms on them.
  4. use them when training as a word search puzzle
  5. use them as art
  6. have them copied onto cloth and made into an alphabet quilt

You can also post them in the gallery on the Wordle site.  That’s a great way to share your creation with the world and, you never know, it might spark an idea for someone else and lead who knows where.

Here’s my favorite one in the gallery right now.

Yep, I think Wordle is a truly GREAT IDEA!

Subscribe to my blog with your email address and I’ll send you a cool Step by Step Guide to Using Wordle that I developed.

Enter the Great Idea Challenge and win one full month of Future Pull Coaching.  Here’s an idea…you could enter a wordle.  If it’s a great one – well wouldn’t that be a great idea?  I think so.

I’ll also send you a copy of my cool Step by Step Guide to Using Wordle.

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in Great Ideas, imagination, Unlimited Possibilities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Commercial Break – Wordle – A Great Idea

  1. tblbodywork says:

    Hi Jackie –
    I LOVE Wordle and I love what you came up with. I hadn’t thought of the usages for this as you outlined, but I have used this as a vision board jump off point for me personally. A visual motivational tool I carry with me in my organizer, reminding me of my dream and passions.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Namaste
    Toi

Leave a Reply

