Perhaps I DO Ask Too Many Questions!

Many question marks!But you know what?  I don’t care.  And I’m not going to stop.  In fact, I am going to pump it up!

My whole life I’ve been told I talk too much and ask too many questions.  Now I’m going to put it to good use.  I’m working on my next book, probably titled 101 Questions That Will Blow Your Mind And Maybe Change Your Life.

Yep, it’s time to put my natural questioning talent to good use.  But, surprisingly, it’s really not that easy to come up with 101 really great questions.  I’m still refining them.

Here’s my favorite question and one that I’ve been brooding about since I was 26 — that’s thirty-five years!  Wow!  I can’t believe I’m that old–which reminds me of another one of my 101 questions:  If you didn’t know how old you are, how old would you think you are?

Anyway back to my favorite question and the back story.  When I was twenty-six, I had just recently moved to Thunder Bay.  I was standing in the post office, which at that time, was a real post office with real wanted signs on the walls, not the little Shopper’s post offices we have now.  I was standing there in line, wearing my suede jacket with big fur collar and holding my little son’s hand, looking back at the door. Yes, I can remember all the details like it was yesterday.  It was snowing heavily.  By the way, if you’ve read my post about the snowy day when I hit bottom and didn’t even have a coat and if you’re wondering why I have a coat this time, this was the year after my coatless winter and my life was already on the upturn.

I imagined that my older self came in the door and walked over to me.  I wondered what my older self would look like.  I must have thought that fashion stood still because I remember that my older self was wearing a red mini coat much like my favorite coat at the time and a long silk scarf wrapped around my neck and knotted in front.

My older self came striding over to me in her high platform boots and leaned over and told me three things to prepare me for my future.  Okay so my older self didn’t actually say anything because that’s where my daydream stopped and my wondering started.  I wondered what she would tell me and I’ve been wondering ever since.

Yes, I’ve been pondering that ever since.  Since that day in the post office, I have regularly thought about the advice I would give myself if I could go back to that 26 year old and tell her something to prepare her for her life.

Would I warn her off from certain actions?  Warn her about certain men? Give her some stock advice?  Tell her to invest in computers if she ever had any money?

After years of thinking on this question, I have my answer.  I know exactly the three things I would tell her.  I’ll share them tomorrow.

What I’d like to know now is, if you could go back to your younger self – pick an age, any age – what would you tell yourself?  What advice would you give?

The other thing I’d really like is for you to help me come up with 101 really great questions.  A few of my 101 just don’t cut it.  Help me out!

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in Great Ideas, great memories, life questions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

