Adopt a Perspective of Unlimited Possibility

Only those brave enough to venture out of sight of land discovered new worlds.

I am asking you to open your mind to the possibilities, to consider that perhaps things that seem impossible now, may be possible, and that we just don’t know how or why—YET.

I’m going to share an embarrassing secret.  Don’t spread it around.  It’s this—if there is more than one way to interpret something, I will always, inevitably, choose the wrong way.  For example, the year after Hurricane Katrina devastated New Orleans, there was another hurricane heading directly for the city.  I was watching the CNN coverage of preparation for the hurricane’s landfall and heard the mayor of New Orleans make strong statements about the consequences of anyone taking advantage of the situation by looting.  He said something like, “There will be zero tolerance for looting.  Any looters will be sent directly to Angola.”  I was shocked.  I thought, “Whoa!  How can they do that?  Wouldn’t the government of Angola have something to say about that? Maybe Angola doesn’t want all of America’s criminals! What is Angola, some kind of planetary prison state? That’s ridiculous!”  I worked myself into quite a flurry, but a few minutes later I found out that Angola is the Louisiana State Penitentiary.    I had a little chuckle about that.

Another time, I read the headline, “Crack found in lining of shuttle.”  Immediately, again jumping to another completely off-base conclusion, I thought, “Wow!  You’d think astronauts would be a better quality of person.  I’m surprised that crack addicts would pass all that screening.”  Of course, reading the actual article revealed that it was a structural problem in the shuttle and that astronauts are not just a bunch of crack heads wanting to experience a new high in space.  I had a really good chuckle after that one.

Remember when Dolly the sheep was cloned in 1996?  It was the first time a mammal had been cloned and made headlines around the world. When I read it, I thought I was misinterpreting as usual.  Now I admit that I was completely behind the times, but I didn’t have any idea that cloning was anywhere near reality.  I thought it was still strictly in the science fiction realm.

Finding out that they had successfully cloned an animal was a major turning point for me.  First of all, I now try to stay a little more informed so that I don’t sound as stupid as I did when Dolly happened.  I’m also much more open-minded about what is possible.  Other people have ‘ah-hah moments’.  I have ‘Dolly moments’.  A Dolly moment is when my mind’s door creaks open just a little wider.

Since my first Dolly moment, I have adopted a Perspective of Unlimited Possibility. Now I think that, until it’s proven that something is impossible, who can say whether it is or isn’t.  I try to balance that with the realization that it’s dangerous to be too gullible.  You know the old saying about what happens when you’re too open-minded–your brains might fall out.

Although my formal education in math and science was limited to business math in grades nine and ten, I have become a voracious reader of anything related to physics.  One thing that becomes obvious the more you read about the new lines of exploration and discovery in science, particularly quantum physics, is that even the experts, the scientists working every day to decode and explain the nature of reality and consciousness, are finding that the more they know, the more they don’t know.

It appears that as we step into the future, we are learning that perhaps some of the ancient beliefs about energy and reality have more substance than we previously thought.  Of course, I’m not suggesting that we go back to believing ancient myths where thunder and rain and the rising and setting of the sun were powered up by gods and goddesses who were either angry or pleased with the actions of the humans here on earth.  Those interpretations of natural phenomena were simplistic and egocentric attempts to explain the then unexplainable.  However, I am suggesting that the core beliefs behind many of the myths are perhaps not so far off the mark as we’ve thought.

It’s only very recently that the body-mind connection has become accepted in mainstream society.  It’s not unusual now for someone to believe that how you think might affect how you feel.  We know that stress, which is largely affected by our perception of reality and how we feel about what is actually happening, sets off a myriad of physical responses in the body, and if not mitigated or controlled, is a leading cause of illness and death.  This is widely accepted but in the early 1990s when I was teaching stress management courses at the local college, it was leading edge information.  We also know that if someone changes their thinking, perhaps their perception of themselves and their ability to influence and control their physical bodies, they can effect truly amazing miracles of healing.

Compare the current understanding of the mind-body connection with the ancient beliefs about shamans and medicine men and their powers.  Voodoo dolls may be the stuff of horror movies but their real life effect is just as strong as anything you might see in the movies.  In an Australian tribal culture, they used a stick instead of a voodoo doll.  If you were angry with someone or felt they had done you wrong, you could go to the shaman or, in this case, the witch doctor, and for a fee he would point a stick at the offending person.  Within days the victim of the stick would begin to sicken and die.  In fact, ‘pointing the stick’ was outlawed and punishable by imprisonment in that country.  Perhaps that’s not so different from the damage that we know stress can cause.  Death by voodoo doll or death by pink slip?  Ultimately, it’s still death as a result of our own thinking.

And what about the placebo effect?  Numerous studies have demonstrated that if you give someone a sugar pill and tell them that it is medicine that has an 80% to 90% success rate in curing whatever ails them, there is a very good chance that they will indeed get better.  Or the power of visualization to cure illness?  Patients with terminal illnesses who put their disease into remission by visualizing the tumour being dissolved or gobbled up by a video game character?  Is that any different than people who have been cured by the rattles and chanting of a shaman?  They are examples of ideas that were laughed at and ridiculed as being the beliefs of primitive people and now have been proven to have a scientific basis.

Now I’m asking you to adopt a Perspective of Unlimited Possibility and to consider that you might have far more power over reality than these few examples demonstrated.  I’m suggesting that you have the power to co-create your life and manifest your deepest desires.  As you listen or read about new ideas and possibilities, instead of immediately dismissing them and thinking them too farfetched to be real, just consider that there is the possibility that you just may not know everything there is to know and that anything is possible.  Be a child again with a willingness to believe.

There are certain beliefs or views of reality that, once assumed to be true, have the power to immediately and amazingly affect the direction and quality of your life. A Perspective of Unlimited Possibility is a way of viewing reality that will lead to an amazing change in your life.  Does that statement sound too extravagant–that a change in perspective can affect the direction and quality of your life?  Amazing means that you will view the results with awe and wonder.  I am absolutely confident that if you accept, or at least try this on for size, you will be amazed at the results.  If you adopt the Perspective of Unlimited Possibility and apply it on a continuous basis, you will create positive and massive change in your life.  Guaranteed!

So what is a Perspective of Unlimited Possibility? By adopting a Perspective of Unlimited Possibility, I have chosen to take an open-minded approach to the array of possibilities that each new scientific discovery opens up.  I have shed the safe haven of dogmatic belief and I am willing to venture forth to explore all that life has to offer.  In the middle ages, maps of the known world had drawings of sea monsters beyond the edges of the land.  Only the bravest sailors would venture out of sight of land in case ‘there be monsters’ or in case they fell off the edge of the earth.

Helen Keller’s words, “Life is either a daring adventure or nothing” is my motto. I think of myself as one of those brave sailors willing to view life as a grand adventure to be undertaken.  I want to open my eyes and my mind and my heart to all the possibilities in life.  I am willing to take the chance that I might meet monsters because I know they are all just in my mind anyway.  I know that it’s not likely that I’ll fall off the edge of the earth and much more likely that I’ll discover wonderful new lands and fantastic new experiences.

Adopting the Perspective of Unlimited Possibility means that I see the possibilities in life and am willing to explore them.  You can be an adventurer too.  Just adopt the Perspective of Unlimited Possibility.

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Adopt a Perspective of Unlimited Possibility

  1. Your “Dolly” moments reminded me of Gilda Radner’s character Emily Litella on the old SNL. 🙂 Great post and yes, things have shifted and continue to shift so that more of what was thought preposterous just a few years ago has made its way into mainstream thought now. Love the idea of Perspectives of Unlimited Possibilty!

    • futurepull says:

      Thanks Lisa. Yes, every day we found out that things that seems impossible are possible. Even on an individual level! I never thought I’d be able to flip at tire at the crossfit box but I did. It was the smallest one there but I did it!

  2. Allison Crow says:

    Love it….Dolly Moment! My life, too, changed when I started seeing possibility instead of problems! Great post!

    • futurepull says:

      Thanks Allison. Yes I am famous for my Dolly moments. I need to start filtering when I jump to conclusions. I even asked people about Angola! Duh!

  3. petermeadit says:

    Yes, I really like the idea of the Unlimited Possibility, it is a big idea, and it is hard to get your head around. Still I think it must be true.

    Thanks for the sharing,
    Peter Mead

    • futurepull says:

      thanks for reading Peter.

      • petermeadit says:

        I guess we have a lot to unlearn first…?

      • futurepull says:

        I guess we do — we have a lot unlearn. I like the analogy of a cup of tea. If it’s already full we can’t pour more in. We have to empty it first to make room for the new stuff. It’s a matter of letting go, I guess. We have to let go of so much soemtimes, outdated ideas, clutter. I have a blog coming up on that.

  4. Alan Miles says:

    Inspirational stuff, Jacqueline, and I’m with you all the way. You’ve included some wonderful imagery, that I’ll no doubt steal as I blog about Achievement – the sea monsters on the edge of the land, the Dolly moment – and that great Helen Keller quotation. Thanks for this.

    • futurepull says:

      What a nice clean looking website you have Alan. I think I must be going through a fundamental change. I want everything clean, spacious, minimal and zenlike–my house, my website, my life. You’ve inspired me to simplify my website.

      • Alan Miles says:

        Yes – I wanted minimal – and I found this at ‘Elegant Themes’ – there’s a small fee – but a choice of over 70 different themes. I’ve been pleased with the results, and the support.

  5. The sum total of our knowledge is far exceeded by our ignorance. There are so many things to learn! I am fascinated by the perplexing discoveries being made about time, space, the very substance of the universe. Acceptance of the power of our minds is, in my opinion, the next step in our advancement as a species. The possibilities are truly endless!

    What a great read. Thanks for this!

Leave a Reply

