Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known

There are some concepts that make sense or have been proven scientifically, and I accept them as fact.  There are some ideas that are interesting and I’m willing to consider them as possibilities.  As Carl Sagan said, “Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.”  Then there are the things that I believe with my whole heart–in spite of not having proof or knowing how exactly they work.  Call it an intuitive ‘knowing’ if you will.  That is when I adopt the Perspective of Unlimited Possibility.  I open my mind and allow the possibility that certain unproven things might be true.

In the Bible, Paul wrote, in Hebrews 11:1, “Faith is the assured expectation of things hoped for, the evident demonstration of realities though not beheld.”  Sometimes we may absolutely believe that something is true in spite of not understanding the why’s and how’s of it.

Let me use a simple analogy.  If I flick the switch on the wall in my kitchen the light comes on and I can see.  I don’t know how it works but I know that if I’ve paid my hydro bill, it usually happens just as I expect.  If I knew more about the why’s and how’s of it, I’d be able to change that fixture for something more attractive without calling an electrician.  But in my day to day world, the evident demonstration of reality is that electricity flows through my walls, through wires, and lights up my kitchen.

Thich Nhat Hanh was a Vietnamese Buddhist monk, author, poet, and peace activist.  He was a leader in ‘engaged Buddhism’ which melded traditional Zen Buddhism with ideas from Western psychology and the pursuit of change and human freedoms.  He was nominated for a Nobel Peace Prize by Martin Luther King Jr., but his stance against the Vietnam War led to his exile to France in 1973.  He wrote,

 “In April, we cannot see sunflowers in France, so we might say the sunflowers do not exist.  But the local farmers have already planted thousands of seeds, and when they look at the bare hills, they may be able to see the sunflowers already.  The sunflowers are there.  They lack only the conditions of sun, heat, rain and July.  Just because we cannot see them does not mean that they do not exist.”

One of the concepts that I have faith in and live my life by is what is now called the Law of Attraction.  I’ve seen “the evident demonstration of realities though not beheld” both in my own life and in the lives of others.

Have you heard of the Law of Attraction? Most likely you have.  Although the actual concept has been around for centuries, it was in the late nineteenth century that the New Thought Movement began to spread the idea that our brains can influence our environment.  The name, “The Law of Attraction” wasn’t actually coined until it appeared in the works of William Walker Atkinson, writing under one of his many pseudonyms, Theron Q. Dumont.  In 1906, he wrote Thought Vibration or the Law of Attraction in the Thought World. Other writers, including the prolific Emmet Fox, author of The Seven Day Mental Diet, and Napoleon Hill, who wrote one of the best-selling books of all time, Think and Grow Rich, went on to suggest techniques and tools to help people use their thinking to change their lives.  But the Law of Attraction was delegated to the ‘woo-woo’ file by most people until the movie, The Secret, was released in 2006.

Now the Law of Attraction has gone mainstream and people around the world are choosing sides. Is the Law of Attraction for real? Is the Law of Attraction the most important and powerful law of the Universe?  Or is it just more evidence of the gullibility of people looking for a quick fix to their problems?  I’m assuming that since you’re reading this blog, you are at least leaning toward the idea that there might be some merit to the idea of the Law of Attraction.

Perhaps you have even tried it for yourself—created a vision board, visualized, recited daily affirmations in front of the mirror—and maybe your results were mixed.  Now you’re looking for the real ‘secret’, that missing ingredient that will make the difference between so-so results and really manifesting the life you were meant to live.

Well I have good news and bad news.  It’s not a big secret.  The good news is that the Law of Attraction is for real and it really can change your life.  The bad news is that it isn’t quite as simple as the film made it appear.  You can’t just place an order with the Universe via your vision board and then wait for all the goodies to show up.  It requires more than that – a change of mind, patience, trust, and yes, even some work.

Tomorrow, more about the Law of Attraction and what’s involved.

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in future pull, Law of Attraction, the Universe, time. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known

  1. Peter Mead says:

    Thanks so much. I do think that it takes work. Or maybe more of a willingness to let go…?

  2. futurepull says:

    Yes the letting go and allowing part is a bit out of the norm. So many ‘reach success’ strategies involve struggle, goal setting (which is still important), and working hard no matter what. Sometimes that just makes us clutchy and pushes it all away. I have struggled with it over the past two weeks. Was working hard to reach some goals and became tired and started to doubt and get down. And I know better!

  3. Thanks Jacqueline – love your post! I agree with you about The Secret, while it has been the catalyst for some stunning changes in my life, it is too simplistic & I believe missed one critical step..Ask, Believe, Take Action & Receive.
    Looking forward to reading the next bit…xxx

Leave a Reply

