The Importance of Gratitude

I would maintain that thanks are the highest form of thought; and that gratitude is happiness doubled by wonder. ..

G.K. Chesterton

 

I love this! I should get it for my wall.

The feeling and emotion you attach to your thoughts about what you want to pull into your life is the most powerful attraction force you have.  Gratitude or appreciation is the most powerful of those feelings.

Abraham is a collection of non-physical realities that speak through Esther Hicks.  Esther and her husband, Jerry Hicks, travel around North America in a big bus leading workshops and turning people on to the wisdom of Abraham and the Law of Attraction.  Abraham, Esther and Jerry have produced numerous books and cd’s that document these workshops and they are really the go-to source for information about the Law of Attraction.  Abraham distinguishes between gratitude and appreciation and says that appreciation is equal to love and is key to attracting your desires into your life.  In the book, Ask and It Is Given, Abraham says:

“Every time you appreciate something, every time you praise something, every time you feel good about something, you are telling the Universe: “More of this, please.”  You need never make another verbal statement of this intent, and if you are mostly in a state of appreciation, all good things will flow to you.”

Appreciation or gratitude has a way of turning our thoughts around and completely changing our attitude from misery to joy.  When we count our blessings, we have more to count.  Even when things seem low, if you try, you will always be able to find something to be thankful for.

I remember when I first gained that understanding.  I had had a horrible day at work.  I had received notice that I was being laid off and had only two weeks left to work.  Then when I got home I found that my dog had taken a pot of leftover borsht out of the sink and carried it to the living room, onto the carpet, where she had spread it around like a feast before consuming it and throwing up.  It appeared that she had then tried to hide the mess by covering it with the dirt from a big floor plant that I had by the door.  I thought the carpet was ruined forever.

After I cleaned it all up, I went to put the dirty cleaning rags in the washing machine and found that the load of laundry I had put in to wash in the morning was still sitting in a tub of water.  My washing machine had broken.  So I pulled out all the clothes, wrung them out by hand the best I could and then put them in a laundry basket to take to the laundromat.  As I carried them out, through the living room to the front door, all the water poured out through the side of the basket and left a trail of water through the house.  After I had a little weep, I went to the laundromat to rewash and dry the laundry.  I was really feeling hard done by.

While I sat waiting for my laundry to finish, I pulled out a little piece of paper from my purse and decided to write down all the good things about that day and compare it to all the bad things that had happened.

Unbelievably, the good outnumbered the bad!  They really did!  It was a beautiful day.  The carpet, surprisingly, hadn’t stained.  I had a good car that was paid for.  I had severance pay coming and I had skills and a good resume and I was sure I’d get another job soon.  In fact, I had quite a list of things to be grateful for.

My mood was lifted.  I no longer felt like I wanted to go to bed, listen to country music and drink a bottle of cheap wine.  I had renewed energy and was ready to move on to the next adventure.  That easily and that quickly.

When I interviewed master manifesters about their experiences, and asked for their advice about using the Law of Attraction, I spoke to one young British man, Alex Summer, who told me that he sees gratitude as far more than just saying ‘thank you’.

Alex, who has become adept at setting goals and achieving his ideal life, believes that you can’t turn gratitude on and off.  He says that it must evolve from an emotion to an actual spiritual state.  He contemplates gratitude during his daily meditation, reviewing his day and acknowledging the blessings and help he has received from others.  He knows that he is worthy of what he requests and receives and that he is part of a cycle; in addition to receiving and expressing gratitude, he must also pay it forward and help others.  Being part of the divine source of everything, he is part of the flow and must give as well as receive.

We are energetic beings, little cyclones of universal energy.  When we feel gratitude the level of our energy rises and we more easily connect with the energy of the Universe.  Gratitude literally activates the Law of Attraction, pulling more of what we are grateful for into our lives.  Never underestimate the power of being thankful.  Make it a daily habit to express gratitude to the Universe as well as to everyone who crosses our path and contributes to our lives in some way.  Focus on appreciating all your blessings for a week and watch how it changes your life.

Action Step:  Start a Gratitude Journal

Purchase a small book and start a gratitude journal. 

Keep it by your bed and every night before you turn off the light, list everything you are grateful for in your life. 

Try to attain at least ten each night.  Even if you have to list such basic things as a bed to sleep in, the sound of rain to lull you to sleep, the fact that you are alive and have had another day to make a difference, you can come up with ten things. 

Follow the example of Alex Summer and contemplate gratitude when you meditate.  What do you mean, you don’t meditate? Keep reading and you will.

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in future pull, gratitude, Manifestation Stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Importance of Gratitude

  1. Peter Mead says:

    Ok, gotta get a little book and put 10 thank you’s in there each night and then things will be awesome. 🙂
    Thanks for sharin this positive story.
    Peter Mead

Leave a Reply

