Yay for me! I’m so excited!

I daydreamed about receiving this!

I’m so excited!  Look what I got!  The Fabulous Blog Ribbon.  Receiving this prestigious award requires serious commitment to fulfilling the requirements.  So here goes!

1. Thank the blogger who gave you the ribbon and share the link back to the awarding blog.

I’d like to thank Angie-Hottentots-Laurel of The Daily Hottentots.  She has a fun blog to read and I’m so happy that she enjoys mine too.

2. Name 5 fabulous moments in your life.

Last Christmas I arrived in Ottawa and as I was coming down the escalator, I saw my little two year old grandson standing by his dad.  He saw me and ran over to the escalator, yelling, “Hi Nanny! Hi Nanny!” and jumping up and down.  It still brings tears to my eyes to remember.

The day my first book arrived in the mail.  It truly is like delivering a baby – took the same length of time too.

When I finally got the nerve to take my first flying lesson.  Up till then I was so afraid of flying that I tried to get drunk with those little tiny booze bottles before I had to get on a plane.  So I figured that if I learned to fly, I’d probably stop being scared.  I made an appointment for a flying lesson, and cancelled it; and made it again, and cancelled it; I made it again and cancelled it. Every time I cancelled, they’d say, “That’s okay.  Maybe next time you’ll be able to.”  And then one day I did and it was wonderful and sure enough, it worked.  I no longer have to be drunk to fly.

When I went on a three day kayaking trip with my friend Elaine off the coast of northern Vancouver Island.  As soon as we left the harbour and reached open water, we saw the whales coming and they passed us by all day long.  Huge Orca mummies and daddies and babies, not even twenty feet away.  Life changing.

October 15, 2001, I was in an oak forest in Indiana, lying in a hammock by a pond.  I was halfway through a feng shui practitioners training program and I was freaked out because I was still a Jehovah’s Witness and figured I was going to end up demon possessed for sure.  But lying in that hammock that day, watching the leaves falling from the trees, I made the decision that I just didn’t believe that stuff anymore.  I said out loud, “Jehovah, give me some kind of sign.  Am I right?  Should I leave that behind and move on?”  Right at that moment, the gong rang to call us back into the class.  I said, ‘Thank you.” And that was that.  My life has been completely free ever since.

3. Name 5 things that you love.

My son, grandson, and daughter-in-law.  I wish they were closer. They are a unit and only count as one, just like Jack’s favourite stuffed toys, Monkey-Cow—they are also a unit and must always be held together.

Playing board games, especially Trivial Pursuit.  I am the Trivial Pursuit queen.  Although HeadBandz is pretty damn hysterical too.

Art; big colorful abstract art, especially when they are painted by Jonas Gerard.

Sitting on my back deck, writing in my journal, having an omelet, toast, grapefruit, and coffee and admiring my beautiful tree-filled backyard, especially if the lawn mower guy has just been.

Anything to do with water; kayaking, cruising, sailing, or just sitting on a dock somewhere, especially at sunrise or sunset.

(Bonus love:  the word especially.)

4. Name 5 things that you hate.

Milk

Racism, homophobia, judgemental religious beliefs—anything that separates people instead of uniting them.

Cougars and tigers and wasps, oh my!  Especially cougars, the scariest beast known to man.

People who try to boss me around or treat me like I’m stupid or lie to me.  Especially if they are stupider than me.  Then it’s just insulting.

Doing routine boring tasks, especially the ones I know I should be doing.

5. Pass the award to 5 deserving bloggers.

Steve Rice.  This is what his About page says:  Hi, I’m Steve Rice and my goal is to transform simple philosophical truths into practical fuel to revolutionize your life.  How could you not love that.

Cathy’s Voice Now.  She’s authentic and I like anyone who is authentic, especially if they are also gentle.

Alan Miles.  Not only is his blog  beautiful simple and clean and full of useful business info.  Alan is just a very nice guy who was so helpful earlier this month to so many people having commenting problems.

Patty Farmer at BizLink.  She wrote a great blog today on guest blogging and I want to be a guest blogger.  Maybe she’ll let me if I send her the ribbon.  Just kidding, you don’t have to (it would be nice but you don’t have to.)

Chazz Chute of Chazz Writes, just because Chazz is cool and Chazz is fun and his page is so full of stuff that I can just browse although reading too much requires the ability to focus more than I’m capable of.

So I have now fulfilled my responsibilities as an awardee and I am genuinely thrilled to have done so.  This is just so not like what I usually post.  Although now I’ll have to post two today because I promised the other half of the D.U.M.B. goals post.

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in gratitude and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yay for me! I’m so excited!

  1. Chazz says:

    Thanks! Very kind. I shall blog. 🙂

  2. Thanks…Appreciate the kind mention! 🙂

  3. Pingback: UBC #23: Loves & hates & the Fab Blog Award | Chazz Writes

Leave a Reply

