Do you have a bucket list?

bucket list

Celebrate all the things you’ve already accomplished

Every great dream begins with a dreamer.  Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars, to change the world.

-Harriet Tubman

You’ve designed your Ideal Day and you’ve identified what you really really really want, what you want but can live without, and what would just be the icing on the cake.  You’ve also compared your Ideal Day to your real, right now life and you have seen just how close you are.  I hope you’re expressing daily gratitude for all the blessings you have right now, and I hope you’re making the most of them, no longer taking them for granted while pining for what you don’t yet have.

But what about the gaps?  What about the elements of your Ideal Day that are missing?  Now is the time to identify them and turn them into a list so that you can start attracting them into your life.  Now is the time to create your bucket list – the list of what you want to do, what you want to have, where you want to go, and what you want to learn before you kick the bucket.

In the 2007 movie, Bucket List,  Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman played two terminally ill men who decide to attack their bucket lists and check off everything they have on the lists.  They climb mountains; they jump out of airplanes; they stay in expensive penthouse suites.  You may have a whole list of adventures you want to try.  You may have places to see, things to do, stuff to get, people to meet.  It’s your list to create.

My bucket list includes seeing New Orleans and visiting the butterfly farm in Florida.  I’d also like to kayak near an iceberg, write a book, and meet Richard Branson.  My list also includes some goals that I’ve already accomplished like flying a plane, kayaking with Orcas, and getting a big flat screen tv.  Those things make reading my list even more enjoyable.  They are evidence that I’ve accomplished some of my goals and that I can achieve even more.  My bucket list is organic, ever changing.  I read it regularly and sometimes I’ve changed my mind about something and I take it off the list.  Sometimes I add new things or revise the items I have to make them more specific.

It’s important to be specific.  In fact, it sometimes seems to me that it’s only when you do get specific that the Universe says, “Okay I get it now.  You want that!  Okay, here it is.”

In February 1997, after watching a documentary about retirement savings and pensions, my friend and I were discussing the financial needs we would have before we could retire.  Having been mostly self-employed and occasionally rather lax in my retirement investments, I commented that in order to retire I would have to either win the lottery or grow my business to a million dollars in value and then sell it.  I said that I’d probably have a better chance with growing and selling my business and that, yes, that would be my plan.  I declared that I would grow it to $500,000 by the end of that year.

Now at that time, I had a full-time job and was operating my business on a part-time, home-based basis.  My friend laughed and suggested I lower my sights a bit for that year.

I replied, “Okay then if you insist, $100,000 by the end of this year.  $500,000 by the end of next year.”  We both laughed.

However, so much can change in just a few short months.  I was laid off from my job at the end of March and by the end of December, my business had $100,000 in federal contracts.  By the end of January 1998, just a year after our conversation, I had exactly $475,000 in contracts and I had jumped from a sole owner, home based business to a small company with twelve employees.  Never underestimate the power of a clear intention.

Action Step:

Make a list of goals that you would like to accomplish in your lifetime.  They might be things you want to have, places you want to go, people you want to meet, adventures you’d like to try, or just every day activities that you’d like to be enjoying in your life.  Review your Ideal Day and make sure you include those aspects that you identified as Essential or Important.

The list can include those goals that you’ve already accomplished.  Celebrate them!

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in future pull, goal-setting, Law of Attraction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Do you have a bucket list?

  1. Chef William says:

    I loved the movie so much I purchased a copy and watch it about once a year. After watching the movie I started my bucket list. I am writing this while spending a month in Mexico. One item on the list was to have a retirement home in Mexico,while keeping our home in Wisconsin. I have accomplished this. When I started my list it was a random list of things that I wanted to do, but as I age, I have found that it is better to have a list of “Top 10” items to be working on, and then move others up the list as I complete something in the top 10. Nice article, it reminded me that it is time for me to revisit my list.

  2. athenabrady1 says:

    Great Post you are a very inspiring person, thank you for sharing your words of wisdom.

  3. futurepull says:

    Thanks Athena. Right now I’m sitting surrounded by pieces of paper while I work, but after a frantic search I found my little framed mission statement which states: my purpose in this life is to help and inspire others to see the unlimited possibilities, to find their adventurous spirit, and to walk their unique life path with joy and gratitude. So it’s very rewarding and happy-making when someone says I’m inspiring. Thank you.

  4. I love your article; I love your life purpose; and I love your successes!
    Thank you for sharing so much!
    Thank you for being an inspiration!
    Bonni Burrows
    Author: Death? —It’s a Journey to Life!
    http://www.journey2life.com

    • futurepull says:

      Thank you so much Bonni. I just needed to read that. I’ve been working on my new website and trying to figure out the purpose of it and you reminded me of my purpose. Duh! LOL

  5. Pingback: Getting stuff done – the day to day ongoing goals | Future Pull

Leave a Reply

