Remember D.U.M.B. Goals? I need your help to re-label

I need your help

You may remember my recent post on setting D.U.M.B. goals rather than S.M.A.R.T. goals.  If you don’t, here’s the link so you can go and read it now.  It was one of my most popular posts so it won’t be a waste of time.

Well here’s the thing.  It’s not easy making up acronyms.  You’d think I’d be an expert at it since I work for the government but, nope.  In fact, I’m an Instructional Designer, which means that my job is all about deciphering acronyms and making people stop using them when they deal with customers.  I don’t like acronyms very much.  As soon as I see one, it makes my brain stop working for a minute.

However, I do like the D.U.M.B. acronym.  It stands for Dogged, Unusual, Mindless, but totally Believed-in goals, as compared to the usual S.M.A.R.T. goals which are Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic and Time-Defined–how boring.  Other people really like the D.U.M.B. acronym too.  I don’t want to change it.  I want to change the words that it represents.

Yesterday, I received notification of a Hay House Non-Fiction Contest.  It’s always been my D.U.M.B. goal to be published by Hay House and I want to enter.  The manuscript has to be at least 50,000 words.  My book Future Pull is not a tiny little book.  It’s 263 pages so I was surprised to find that it’s only about 48,000 words.  Holy smoke!  I thought it was way over 50,000.  So what better time to go over it and do the second edition.  I want to include information about the ‘god particle’ anyway.

And I want to change the meaning of the D.U.M.B. acronym.  I’ve thought of Daring, Unusual, Mind Blowing goals–or Mind-Bending.  And Daring, Unusual, Massive, and totally Believed-in goals.  And Dramatic, Unusual, M……. B…….. – I don’t know.  I thought of a few more.  Unfortunately most of them came to me in the middle of the night and were gone by morning.

So I’d really like your help in coming up with some ideas.  Send them to me.  Reply to this post.  Or just post them on my facebook page.  If I use your idea, I’ll certainly mention you in my book.  If you read my book, you’ll know that I always mention the people I’ve talking with and gathered my intel from.

Thank you so much.

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in goal-setting, Mastermind and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Remember D.U.M.B. Goals? I need your help to re-label

  1. Don’t Underestimate My Brilliance!

  2. Susan says:

    I remember the D.U.M.B. goals from last week (or the one before?). How about Daring… Unfettered… Motivating… and Buoyant?

  3. I like acronyms!
    A dumb goal represents your Dreamy, Uninhibited, Mindless Best
    or
    ‘Delightful, Unspoken Make-Believe’ Goal
    or
    ‘Dopes Up My Brain!”

    STUPID goals, on the other hand are Stating The Ultimate Personal Internal Desire!

Leave a Reply

