Vision Boards, Treasure Maps – I Call Them Visual Prayers

Here’s a very specific vision board focused on an upcoming wedding.

One of the biggest ‘Wow!’ moments in the movie, The Secret, was when John Assaraf described his experience with attracting his dream home with a vision board.  He had just moved into a home he had been renovating for a year and his son found his vision boards and asked him what they were.  As he showed his son the boards, he realized that he had actually unknowingly bought the very house that he had put on his vision board five years before.

A vision board is a pictoral representation of your Ideal Day.  Sometimes they are called treasure maps.  I like to think of vision boards as visual prayers.  By going through the process of looking for, sorting and arranging  images of exactly what you want to attract into your life, you send a request out to the Universe.  Along with our words, our thoughts and our feelings, it’s another way to create that compelling vision up there in the future.

Over the years, leading workshops to help people clarify and attract their ideal life, I have seen many examples of vision boards working in stunning ways.  In 2001, I went to Indiana to take a feng shui practitioners course.  I travelled back through Minneapolis and, because I had a layover, I went to dinner at the home of Susan, a new friend I had met at the training.  Susan showed me her ‘treasure map’ and told me the story of how it had come true.

After a major life change, Susan had moved to Minneapolis and was looking for a new home.  She had her heart set on a particular condo but there were no units available and, in fact, they were too expensive for her budget anyway.  But she took a photo of herself standing in front of the building and added it to her treasure map.  She continued to look for a place and checked in regularly to see if any units had come available in her preferred condo building.

As it turned out, the condo board began to have issues and people started moving out.  The price of units in the building dropped sharply and she was able to pick up one at a very reasonable price.

Immediately after she bought it, the issues were resolved and the prices returned to their previous level.  But the most surprising part of the story is that after she moved in and as she was hanging her treasure map, she realized she had ended up with the exact condo unit that was behind her in the photo she had taken.

I’ve heard many examples just like this that have convinced me that visual prayers are powerful tools that can help you attract exactly what you desire into your life.

Tomorrow I’ll share more real life stories and tell you the basics of creating a visual prayer.

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in future pull, ideal day, intention, vision boards, visualization and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Vision Boards, Treasure Maps – I Call Them Visual Prayers

  1. cherilynde says:

    I love those stories! When I was working, I used to keep those acrylic tabletop frames around and encourage my team to put pictures in them of the reasons they were working. A lot of times it was their kids, but almost as often, people would put photos of the car they were saving for, the trip they were planning, or the house they hoped to build. It helped keep them focused on their real goal (as opposed to just their work goals) and usually allowed them to be better employees for it. It’s not quite the same thing as a vision board, but I do think photo representations of your future can be powerful things.

    • futurepull says:

      That was a great idea. In fact, from a feng shui point of view, it’s a good thing to put pictures of what you’re working towards in your work area, whether that be in your home office or in your workplace. When I was learning to be a feng shui practitioner, we did a feng shui consultation in a client’s workplace and it was a powerful action to take to energize the space.

  2. I’ve heard of vision boards before, but have never done one. I always just write down my goals, but I think visualization of them might be even better. Do you have any advice for creating a vision board for the first time? Mine would be about increasing Fibromyalgia Awareness through my blog and stuff. Meeting the goals that I’ve set and that sort of thing. I don’t think i’d want to do it on Pinterest, but I’d like to try one on my computer or on a poster board. How do you get started?

    • futurepull says:

      I have a post coming up in a day or two exactly about how to create a vision board. A poster board is good. You can even make vision books if you want like in a photo album. Just collect pictures of the future as you would like to have it and stick them on. The main thing is to make sure you put it the way you want it, not the way you don’t want it. So in your case, when youve increased fibro myalgia awareness, what would that look like for you? Would you be speaking to groups, would you see your blog with a lot of readers – you could put a picture of your blog stats with the numbers really high for example. I have pictures of tulips on my board because my idea of success is to always have fresh flowers in the house. I also have a picture of someone standing at a podium because I like speaking to groups and doing workshops.

  3. gwen says:

    I stumbled into this blog. it turned out to be what I needed to hear as I go through my own crossroad of life.
    It’s amazing how the universe can give you directions right there and then

    Thando
    South Africa

Leave a Reply

