We all get side-tracked–some of us more than others

You’re taking inspired action, watching for the signposts and following the clues. In spite of your best efforts, you might on occasion find that you start to slow down and even begin to doubt that you’re on the right track. You may find that your energy lags. You start to lose focus and get lost in the day to day detritus of your nowadays life. You begin to forget that you have a life waiting for you up ahead. Your future loses the power to pull you.

It happens to all of us–some of us more than others and I certainly count myself in that easily distracted group.

We all have different challenges to deal with. Mine is that I am an ‘idea person’. I am easily distracted by bright shiny objects, fresh new ideas, exciting possibilities. The world is so full of wonderful things and thoughts that I can easily lose focus and head off in another direction. Then something else calls to me and I make another turn and before you know it I’m completely lost and wondering where I’m going and why.

If I want to reach the life I’ve created up ahead, I have to stay focused on my vision and let it pull me towards it. That means that sometimes I have to stop, get rid of distractions, refocus and head out again on the right path.

You may have other challenges that pull you off track. You may be dealing with an inner doubter or limiting beliefs that try to convince you that you can’t achieve your goals. Or outer doubters, like partners, parents, employers or friends who feel that they should ‘warn’ you against what they see as the folly of being unrealistic.

You might be facing some very real issues around basic survival, such as money, employment, health, or relationships. In some cases, it is easy to become overwhelmed with real life concerns and it would be unethical and unrealistic of me to imply that you should ignore them all and just move on blindly towards your goals. If you have to take a job right now to pay the rent, even though it isn’t the job of your dreams, then absolutely you have to do that. If you are faced with a life threatening illness, it would be silly to try to ignore it away. In situations like these, you need to decide the best action for you to take right now, deal with it and resolve it. Then you can refocus and step out again on our path towards your ideal life.

When you get temporarily sidelined while you deal with life issues, your biggest challenge will be not losing hope, not letting doubt and hopelessness take over. When you have to take a brief detour, stay focused on the big picture. Keep that clear compelling vision of your future front and centre so that as the way clears, and it will, you can get back on the path.

Remember that this might be an unexpected turn that will take you closer to your Ideal Day. You often can’t connect the dots and see that everything worked out perfectly until later. Sometimes it’s when you feel most lost that you must just keep walking, keeping a clear vision of your goal, and trusting that the Universe is on your side.

You don’t have control over some things in your day to day life, but you do have absolute control over your attitude and the thoughts you choose to think.

Even when you are faced with seemingly insurmountable problems, that you think you have no control over, you have far more power than you may think. You have control over the most important thing of all. You can choose how you respond. Never think of yourself as a powerless victim. You always choose how the attitude you will take and the thoughts you will think.

Your attitude and thoughts have a remarkable impact on reality and so, ultimately, by choosing your thoughts, you choose your reality. When you feel like you are getting sidelined, ask yourself a few focused questions:

Is this a real detour, or is it a mirage?

Am I just being fooled by fear and doubt into believing that I have to give up my dream?

What is the risk of staying focused on my goals?

What is the worst that could happen if I reject this distraction and stay focused?

What is the risk of putting my dream on the backburner? Am I willing to take that risk?

What decision am I being called on right now to make and what are my options?

Consider these questions as a first step when you are facing potential detours.  They may be all you need to help you refocus, refuel and refresh yourself.

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in goal-setting, Law of Attraction, life questions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We all get side-tracked–some of us more than others

  1. Jamie says:

    We are writing about similar beliefs! I’m sharing this on my page as my readers will find it helpful as well.

  2. futurepull says:

    Thanks Jamie. You have an interesting blog. I’ll have to check it out and see what archetype I am.

Leave a Reply

