I’m Back! Where I’ve been and what I’ve learned

Wow, I haven’t posted since October 5, 2012. Ironically, that last post was on getting side-tracked. Have you wondered where I’ve been? What I’ve been doing? Well thank you for your thoughts.   A lot has happened since then and yes, I was side-tracked by real life changes. Let me bring you up to date and tell you why I’ve been gone.

I’ve been busy putting the Law of Attraction to the test and I have to say, it performed masterfully.

At the end of August 2012, my second grandson, Henry, was born. Of course, I took a trip down to Ottawa to greet him and fell in love. I was already in love with my first grandson, Jack, and had been talking about moving there ‘someday’, maybe when I retire.

When I got home, I laid around kind of mopey and wondered why I was still living 1400 km away from my only son and my grandchildren. I believe there were several reasons why I hadn’t taken any action to move closer.

First of all, I have noticed that some people become like a big barnacle attached to their children’s lives. I didn’t want to be a barnacle. My belief was that I did my best to give him a good start and then sent him out to sail his own journey through life. That’s not to say a parent can’t live closer and be part of their children’s lives, but since I’ve always been a single parent and John is my only son, I was a bit concerned about being intrusive and needy.

Second, even if you did want to become a barnacle, you have to wait till they settle down or you’ll be going through constant upheaval, moving around, until they do. At this point, John was definitely settled in Ottawa; great job, great wife, a home, and two new children. So that reason wasn’t really valid anymore.

The third reason, and probably the biggest, was fear. I was afraid to mess up my life. I had a house in Thunder Bay, a good job, friends, a life. I was afraid I would make this major move and relive the experience of 1976 when I moved to Thunder Bay. You can read about that pitiful story here.

I say that a bit tongue in cheek because while it was a very depressing time for a year or so, in the end, it was the best thing I could have done. The great life I had in 2012 was made possible by my big move in 1976. So, I was afraid to sell my house and start all over.   Yeah, yeah, I believed all the Law of Attraction stuff and had plenty of evidence in my own life that it worked, but obviously my heart was still doubting a bit.

After my trip to Ottawa to meet Henry, I went back to Thunder Bay and announced that I wanted to move to Ottawa. My friends all said, “Yeah, so you’ve said.” They didn’t believe I was serious, and who could blame them.

But this time I was serious. I talked to my boss about a transfer and he got going on it. I am very grateful to him for taking that effort because he certainly didn’t have to and it was a big job. But my manager, my director and the human resources director all got behind me and made it possible. Then of course, I had to actually take action and do what needed to be done on my end.

So I did all the requisite Law of Attraction actions that I talk about in my book, Future Pull – that was the fun part. I daydreamed, I visualized, I made a vision board, I wrote my ideal day. I saw myself living in a really cool neighbourhood in Ottawa, in a modern, spacious, open-concept apartment with beautiful art on the walls and no clutter. I saw myself working downtown and enjoying all that our National Capital had to offer. I saw myself spending hours playing with Henry and Jack and having dinner with my family. That was fun! I could do that forever. But I also had to take some action.

Christmas of 2012, I didn’t take a trip to Ottawa like I usually did. I just worked getting my house ready to sell—painting, de-cluttering, selling stuff, putting other stuff into storage so I could stage my house, getting all the little things done. I put it on the market in February and then went to Ottawa for a few days to check out apartments.

This is where I let some bad habits slide in. I started to worry. If I go back and look at all of the times in my life that were amazing, I would see that they are all, without exception, following a long period of worry and angst. This was no exception. What if my house didn’t sell? What if I couldn’t find a place? How should I get there? What if my car broke down? What if……I don’t know…..I fell into a sinkhole. I don’t need to have rational fears. I’m just as happy with irrational ones.

But my house did sell, within three weeks. I did find an apartment in a wonderful neighbourhood and what’s more, they renovated it for me because I expressed concern about the kitchen. I sold everything—all my furniture and most of my junk.

As usually happens, in spite of my worries, things worked out amazingly well—so many serendipitous things occurred. When I was selling my bed for example, the people who bought it asked if it would be okay if they didn’t pick it up till the next week. I told them no problem because I wasn’t leaving till May anyway. They asked me when in May and when I gave them a date, they asked me if I would like them to leave it until the morning of the day I was leaving. Would I mind?   I was ecstatic! Same thing happened with my couch; it sold but didn’t leave my home till the day before I moved. When I say that I am the luckiest person I know, I can back it up with real life evidence.

I decided to drive down with my dog and cat and have my boxes shipped. I had my car tuned up and checked just to be sure. I got tranquilizers for my dog—okay so that part didn’t work out so well because he barked for the entire three day drive. But I let him live anyway and didn’t dump him at a gas station.

The weather was perfect and I had a nice drive. I arrived just as a small but noticeable earthquake hit Ottawa but I was driving so I didn’t feel it. I was in Ottawa—my new home! Would it turn out as I had visualized? More on that and the lessons learned tomorrow.

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in future pull, ideal day, intention, Law of Attraction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

