Never Underestimate the Power of a Good Idea

Sometimes one idea can have the power to change your life–if you let it.  Back in 1981, I was almost destitute – unemployed, a single parent and very worried about how I was going to feed myself and my 8 year old son. I still had dreams and goals but they were seemed like distant fairytales.

Since childhood, I had wanted to be a writer and I decided to enter a writing competition sponsored by a national magazine.  The entry had to be typed but I didn’t have a typewriter. So I took the leap of faith and rented one for the princely cost of $15 and entered the competition.  I didn’t win the competition, but I gained so much more.

You see, after entering the contest, I started to regret paying the $15 for the typewriter.  But I’m never short of ideas and this time I had a life-changing one!

I thought perhaps I could type papers for students and make back my $15.  At the time, student typing was a big opportunity and it paid $1 a page.  I wasn’t a very good typist but I figured I could type 15 pages to make back my investment.  I put a sign up at the university and got a bite.  I spent the next weekend huddled over my coffee table, typing a 70 page forestry paper.  It literally took all weekend.  Luckily there was a snowstorm and I had nowhere else to go.

When I got that $70 in payment I was ecstatic!  I saw potential!  That one idea turned into little home-based business that supported myself and my son for years.  It led to a resume writing sideline, a career coaching business, speaking engagements, workshop contracts, and eventually grew into a business that had $500,000 in contracts in one year and employed 12 people.

So the next time you have an idea – even if it seems outlandish or far-fetched, don’t dismiss it out of hand.  At least give it some thought and explore its potential.  You never know when one little idea might be the one to change your life.

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in goal-setting, Great Ideas, Uncategorized, Unlimited Possibilities. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

