How to be an Inspiration – The Short List

inspire

Let me ask you a question.  Who inspires you?

A famous, perhaps iconic figure?  Perhaps Prince–who just sadly died yesterday and is top of everyone’s mind?  A great humanitarian like Gandhi or Mother Theresa? A parent or some other friend or relative? Sadly so many people are not recognized as inspirational until they leave us.  Why is that?

But now let me ask you this….are you an inspiration to others?  Have you filled someone with the urge or ability to do or feel something? Do you exert an animating, enlivening or exalting influence? Do you spur others on?  And are you doing that right now—while you’re alive and kicking?  Before you leave us?  Has anyone ever told you that you inspired them?  What a great compliment, honor and responsibility.

Now let me just state for the record that the following list is strictly out of my head – not the result of any scientific research or deep philosophical thought.  However, I humbly admit that some people have said that I have inspired them in some way and I think these are the reasons that people have said this. So this is my short list of the qualities that I think are essential if you want to be considered an inspiration.

1.Be Yourself.  Be Authentic

Copycats are not inspiring.  Prince was the genuine article.  A unique artist who stood out in the over-crowded world of aspiring musicians.  I, although not inspiring like Prince, am definitely ‘just me’.  I couldn’t be someone else if I tried.

2. Be Enthusiastic.

Enthusiasm is infectious.  If you are excited and bubbling over with ideas, you will give others permission to give their imagination free rein.  I am nothing if not enthusiastic, about almost everything.  At least for a while.  Maintaining my enthusiasm is more of a challenge for me but wow, I am an endless fountain of ideas and I can usually get excited about the possibilities of all of them.

3. Be Brave.

It’s not enough to just have an idea; you have to be courageous enough to pursue it –or at least explore it.  Okay, I admit bravery is a two-edged sword.  I think some people may say I’m brave; others would say I’m a risk-taker; others might say I’m just stupid.  A good thing I’m also lucky!

What do you think are the key ingredients you need to be considered inspirational?

Have you been called inspirational?

Please tell us why.  Be brave—blow your own horn!

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in future pull, passion, personal power, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

