Sometimes It Just Depends on Your POV

storm_ 5301805312_b3e0f46a15_z

This morning as I was riding the bus to work, I stared out of the window and listened to a conversation going on behind me.  I was standing and looking out of the window on the left side of the bus.  In the distance were some very threatening clouds on the horizon and I was thinking that it looked like we were in for rain later—maybe even thunderstorms.

I heard one of the conversants behind me ask, “Think it’s going to be a nice day today?”  The other person replied, “Looks like it.  Beautiful clear sky.  I predict it’s going to be a beautiful summer day.”

I was wondering if the couple behind me were making a joke.  I considered that maybe they were applying the Law of Attraction and trying to affirm a great day into being.  I couldn’t resist.  I had to turn around to see who these people were.

So as soon as it was possible without looking like I was deliberately turning to look at them, I shuffled around with the next influx of new riders and took a look.  Two perfectly normal looking people who were also holding on to the overhead hanging things and staring out the window—the window on the right of the bus.  I took a look out of that window too and – WOW!  It was a beautiful day on that side of the bus.  Not a cloud in the sky!  From their point of view, I too would have predicted a beautiful summer day.

I started to think about how often our point of view affects our expectations and our mood.  Admittedly, changing our point of view of most situations is not as easy as looking out of a different window.  And let’s face it, sometimes we just don’t want to change our point of view.  Sometimes we just want to wallow.

But next time you feel like all you see is gray and negative, try changing your perspective.  See if you can turn around and look at it from a new angle.   Try on a new point of view.

About futurepull

I'm a dreamweaver, a sorcerer, co-creator of this brilliant and exciting adventure of life. We're here for the experience, why not make it fun? Try new things, build castles and live in them, paint your future, become friends with eagles and flamingos and iguanas, make a million and give it away. Your future is limited only by your imagination.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

